15 Candidates for the Wallhäußer Innovation Award

As already reported some time ago, the long-standing Prof. Wallhäußer Award has been realigned, as topics such as sustainability, cost efficiency and the use of artificial intelligence will have a significant impact on pharmaceutical production and pharmaceutical technology. The new Prof. Wallhäußer Innovation Award is intended to recognize projects or technical solutions that stand out for their innovative strength and/or offer optimized practical solutions for the future. Winners can be individuals, a group of people, an organization or a company.

 This year, 15 entries were submitted for the Wallhäußer Innovation Award, which is endowed with 5,000 euros, from which a 13-member committee selected a winner. The following proposals were submitted this year:

  • "Sustainability in Pharma - how a company can achieve CO2 net zero goal", Syntegon Technology GmbH /Siegfried Hameln GmbH,   
  • "The FE CPS - Continuous Processing System", Fette Compacting GmbH
  • "Measurement of optical 2D Codes on Pharmaceutical Packages", REA Elektronik GmbH 
  • "A new solution for UV cleanroom decontamination of gowned personnel.", UV Medico A/S, Denmark
  • "CellScrew® - sustainable and scalable adherent cell expansion system - D printed and plant based", Green Elephant Biotech GmbH
  • "Efficient identification of microorganisms for aseptic production with an innovative software tool: LS-pedia", Labor LS SE & Co. KG
  • "Optimized surfaces for apparatus and containers in pharmaceutical, food and process engineering", Bolz Intec GmbH,
  • " Wireless, battery-free sensors that transmit product temperature data in real time during the freeze drying process", Tempris GmbH,
  • "Sustainabillity and Energy Optimisation in New Laboratory and Manufacturing Buildings",Microcoat Biotechnologie GmbH:
  • "Rapid assessment of the stability and viability of proteins, peptides and other biopolymers", Yokogawa Deutschland GmbH
  • "Omnia - A smart and modular software solution not only makes the machine system IoT-capable - a central platform", Bausch+Ströbel SE + Co. KG 
  • "Multifunctional Single Use block solutions GEMÜ SUMONDO Multiports", GEMÜ Gebr. Müller Apparatebau GmbH & Co. KG
  • "Sustainable Diaphragm Valve Technology - Bürkert Tube Valve Body", Bürkert GmbH & Co. KG, Fluid Control Systems
  • "New automatic format change system for the transportation of freeze-drying vials in aseptic lines", Azbil Telstar Technologies
  • "Atmospheric spray freeze drying for an increased sustainability of the lyophilisation process", Prof. Alf Lamprecht, University Bonn, Pharmaceutical Technology/GEA Lyophil GmbH

The award ceremony will take place as part of the PharmaCongress 2024 on March 19/20 in Wiesbaden, which will once again feature around 100 presentations from the fields of pharmaceutical/biopharmaceutical production, pharmaceutical technology, quality assurance and quality control this year.

Go back

GMP Conferences by Topics